Pussy…cat.

2 Apr

Hello, My name is Violet, and I’m a Cat Person.

It wasn’t in my Life Plan to become a cat person. I was raised with a cat at Mom’s house (she really only liked your mom -daisy), but she didn’t like me that much. At Dad’s house, we had a handful of loyal, wonderful dogs; girl’s best friend, no doubt.

One day, shortly after Buddy and I were married, I noticed a kitten playing outside our apartment on a cold March evening. I went downstairs to check if the cat had a tag. Upon finding none, I gave his ears a little scratch and headed back inside. As soon as I opened the door, he darted under my feet and hopped onto the big cozy chair where Buddy was reading. He looked at the cat, looked at me, and said, “I guess we have a pet, huh?”

Over the years, this kitty has become our family. He’s loving, he’s playful, and he’s loyal. He “barks” at the door when there’s a knock (or a mailman), he cuddles us at night, and he begs for food at the dinner table. Buddy even swears that the cat alerted him to my pregnancy by not letting him touch my stomach while I was asleep (pre-pregnancy test.)

Many of my dog-loving friends and relatives don’t get it. They don’t understand how a cat can be as good of a pet as a dog. They’ve never had a cat who responded to commands like this little guy. But I know something they don’t: he’s not just a cat, he’s a guardian.

When we became pregnant, I mourned the loss of our master/kitty relationship. I knew that when the baby arrived, he’d take a backseat to her. I was afraid for their relationship, too: the only interaction he had with children was with Daisy’s kids, and he wasn’t too fond of these small humans (those small humans DID terrorize him, although it was disguised with “HEY KITTY PLAY WITH US” -daisy). But when the baby arrived, we saw a different side to Kitty. He truly loved her. He’d nuzzle her, he’d try to cuddle her, and he’d protect her. If she was crying, he’d freak out and meow until we fixed what ailed her. Even now that she’s a mobile almost-toddler, he’s right by her side, watching her play and begging for food under her high chair. Sure, she pulls his tail and whacks his head with her toys, but he loves it. He’ll follow her around the house, begging for more abuse. Many of my “dog friends” have reported that their pets feel nothing but apathy or envy toward their children. Not my pet – he thinks the baby is his kitten.

Why am I even taking the time to write this? Because there’s a weird stigma against cats. Many non-cat folks, upon hearing that I have a cat, say, “Ew. I hate cats.” You never hear someone judge a dog or a fish that way. Yeah, sure, there are asshole cats, just like there are asshole dogs.

Daisy grew up as a dog person. I remember her little ankle-biters yapping at me every time I walked in the house, and I was a freaking staple there. Even her first “adult” pet (read: not her parents’) was a dog. But she recently joined the Kitty Cult.

Daisy, your input?

These damn cats suck much less than I thought they would. We acquired these two balls of fur from a former coworker of mine. She was moving and couldn’t take her cats and really needed a nice home for them.

Did I mention I am allergic to cats?

I couldn’t say no, though, so I agreed to meet the kitties and see if I dissolved into a snotty mess. I didn’t. We decided that we would adopt them. They are twin sisters. I couldn’t say no to a set of twins!

They had lived in a quiet home with one window and one adult. They weren’t really prepared for a home with room and views of the outdoors, oh, or 3 kids. They spent their first 4 days in our home hiding under our bed. I finally coaxed them out with treats, and since then….. They are the most loving kitties. They sleep in the kids’ rooms, they sit on our laps.

While the anti-cat person in me still kinda wants a cute little chihuahua to stick in my pocket, I’m happy with these two asshole cats. They are sweet, my kids love them, and when we go out of town for the weekend… We don’t have to board them or find someone to keep them.

Am I a reformed cat hater? Yup. Well, sorta. I kinda hate all of YOUR cats, but mine and Violet’s? I like em!

6 Responses to “Pussy…cat.”

  1. Jen Reg April 2, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    we’ve had cats too! our cat now has been with us since 2003 and the bond we have had is unbelievable. he’s always there when i’m down and would always make me feel that i have someone during some of the saddest moments of my life. when i got married and had kids, i left him under my sister’s care. now we’re back together in one house and although the kids are driving him crazy, we’re still all one big happy family.

    • daisyandviolet April 2, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      I’m glad you’re all back together! I’m sure the separation was hard on Kitty, too. Thanks for the comment! -Violet

  2. KeepingItReal April 2, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    My cat loves my kids. He’ll come back for more punishment (being pulled at and hit with toys) because he just has so much fun. He’s always been good with them. I like cats more than dogs. Dogs are needy. They required far too much work. Cats require two things, to be fed and have a clean litter box. Otherwise they’re perfectly fine to be ignored. And when they want attention, they go find the nearest kid who will willingly give them attention.

    • daisyandviolet April 2, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      Totally agree! It’s nice to have 2 creatures in this house that AREN’T high maintenance!

      -daisy

  3. sushi & wine April 3, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Though I pride myself in being an unbiased animal lover, if I had to pick a team, I’d be team cat. Besides just being incredibly cool, I love the low maintenance aspect of cat ownership. If it were up to me after my doggies kick, I’d only have kitties. And since I’m a super cool vet tech a training, I can tell you statistically that there are more cats owned in the US than dogs. So yeah the haters are vocal, but they’re still the minority.
    I know I’ll have kids eventually and the thought of having to get rid of my fur babies terrifies me. I really hope that when my time comes I have your luck. You’ll have to teach me the Jedi tricks to having a successful baby/pet relationship.

    • daisyandviolet April 3, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Sushi, I defer to you for all things animal. =]
      That’s the beauty of kitties: while they’re low maintenance, they’re also affectionate and social.

We'd love to hear your thoughts

