Chicken Kitchen Reveals its Secrets!

17 Apr

Chicken Kitchen is culinary crack.

I mean it.

For those of you who don’t have a Chicken Kitchen near you, let me give you the low-down: freshly grilled chicken, served straight up with sides or in a rice bowl affectionately known as “Chop Chop.” While you have a variety of choices for sauces to top your Chop Chop, those of us “in the know” choose the curry sauce. It’s not your typical Indian curry. It’s very American-ized and mild. My mom and I experimented with our own renditions of the Chop Chop Curry Sauce. The yellow rice/chicken/veggies part was easy, but replicating the sauce proved difficult.

Until recently, we didn’t have a Chicken Kitchen in my neck of the woods. I went without. I was sad. Oh, we briefly had a location nearby, but the stupid yokels in my town preferred the Moe’s next door, and Chicken Kitchen met an early demise. Right before they closed down, I asked the manager to give me the curry sauce recipe, and he so kindly obliged. I made it, and it was a perfect, identical replica of the store-bought stuff. Happy Violet!

**Disclaimer: If you read my “I hate mayo” post, you may be a little confused as to why I’m offering you a recipe containing mayonnaise. This is THE EXCEPTION. I have to pinch my nose shut and close my eyes while making this sauce, but it’s worth it in the end.**

Curry Sauce Ingredients:

  • 2 TBSP light mayo (ew.)
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 2 TBSP water

Directions:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. Whisk thoroughly. If you want it thicker, use less water. If you want it thinner, use a little more.

Want to make the rest of the Chop Chop to go with the sauce? (As opposed to eating it with a spoon…because that’s just tacky…gulp.)

Ingredients:

  • Yellow rice
  • Cooked chicken breast
  • Veggies: lettuce, tomato, onions, peppers…they all work well. Use your favorites

Directions:

  1. Place the cooked yellow rice at the bottom of  your bowl.
  2. Layer diced chicken breast on top
  3. Layer veggies on top of that
  4. Cover with curry sauce.
  5. Be happy.
We'd love to hear your thoughts

