Mother’s Day Gifts that DON’T SUCK

8 May

I had a fantastic Mother’s Day gift idea, and I had to share with my readers.

All year, I’ve been taking photos of Pterodactyl next to wooden blocks, spelling out her age. When she was two months old, I placed her next to wooden blocks that spelled out “2 Months.” So on, and so forth.

I was shopping online the other day (surprise surprise) and discovered a sale on Snapfish.com. They were practically giving away photo books. I made one of all the block photos, plus a few miscellaneous family photo shoots and Pterodactyl’s birthday party pictures, and ordered three: one for Blondie (my mom), one for Dorothy (my step-mom), and one for The Southern Belle (Buddy’s mom). All three grandmas are receiving these books for Mother’s Day (oops. Surprise ruined.) The Southern Belle received hers last night as an early Mother’s Day gift, and she loved it. I’m pretty sure the book is going to work with her so she can brag to all the other grandmas at her school. (Yes, she’s a teacher, too. We all are. Teachers and lawyers, my family…)

Do you have any creative Mother’s Day/Father’s Day gift ideas? I’m sick and tired of flowers, ties, chocolates, and BBQ tools. Let’s get original, readers!

6 Responses to “Mother’s Day Gifts that DON’T SUCK”

  1. Hevel May 8, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    Ever since I became a parent I’ve lived in countries with no Father’s Day. Hungary has a Mother’s Day, Israel only has a family day. So I’ve never received a Father’s Day gift and I hated the people who raised me enough not to put any thought into it. If, however, once we celebrated it, I’d like to receive a big family name sign for our front door from Kérj Bármit! It’s a fun and useful thing at the same time.

    • daisyandviolet May 8, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      It’s all about personalized gifts! We’ll wish you a Happy Fathers Day from the states. 🙂 -Violet

    • daisyandviolet May 9, 2012 at 7:06 am #

      I think you should start a Father’s Day tradition in your family. 🙂

      -daisy.

      (by the way, violet and I were gossiping, and we really enjoy your comments. Thank you)

  2. I.R. May 8, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    What about me? Over the years, so many people have called me “mother . . .” – – granted, it’s only half of the entire epithet, and, true enough, typically the snarls have come from agents I’ve cross examined or prosecutors I’ve sent home whimpering — but, still, I want something for Mother’s Day, too , , ,

    Aye Are

    • daisyandviolet May 9, 2012 at 4:20 am #

      If Mother Fuckers get Mother’s Day gifts, then Sir, you are their king, and you shall receive gold. 🙂

    • daisyandviolet May 9, 2012 at 7:08 am #

      IR,

      The type of Mother that is celebrated on Mother’s Day is not specified. Therefore, MotherFuckers should get to participate as well.

      I hope you receive everything you wish for on this Mother (fucker) Day.

      -daisy

We'd love to hear your thoughts

