Your Formal Invitation to Violet’s Pity Party

30 May

I just dropped Buddy off with some officers and some gentlemen for another round of “G.I. Joe” on your tax dollar. For the next few weeks, I’m a single mother.

Did I mention today is our wedding anniversary? Today is our wedding anniversary.

I should be accustomed to this. I signed up for this when I married a troop. Six years and 20 minutes ago today, I was walking down the aisle, toward the most handsome man in his dress uniform. Even my wedding ceremony was wrought with reminders about the choice I was making at that very moment.

But things feel different now. We’re parents.  Last wedding anniversary, Buddy took me to our favorite sushi haunt, with a little monkey swaddled against my chest in her stylish pouch. This year, we woke up at o-dark-thirty to schlep the man an hour away, loaded to the brim with tactical gear.

I am not an ingrate: I value everything Buddy’s service has brought to our lives. Our killer health insurance, our inexpensive mortgage on a great home, and our paid off cars are gifts directly (or indirectly) bestowed upon us by the military.

But when he misses anniversaries, birthdays, family weddings, et cetera, I get a little crabby and forget to be thankful.

2 Responses to “Your Formal Invitation to Violet’s Pity Party”

  1. Erica M. May 30, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I can relate if it makes you feel any better. My hubby is in law enforcement and recently transferred to a position allowing him to set his own days and hours. Prior to that for 10+ years he was always gone for the big stuff (and while our now two oldest children were mostly toddlers/infants…) pretty much single mom territory A LOT of the time. Hang in there and try to look on the bright side: he gets to spend non-typical time with you guys that someone with a 9 to 5 job wouldn’t get to do. 🙂

    • daisyandviolet June 2, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      That’s a great point!! Thank you for your optimism!

      I’d like to add that you LEO wives don’t get enough credit. I have two good friends who are LEO wives, and I hear about what you guys go through on a daily basis. It’s tough shit. For some reason, my metropolis has had to bury way too many LEOs lately; a national record, I think. It’s tragic and scary and awful. I know that my husband is safe, even though he’s not with me right now. Even when he was in combat zones, I feared for his life for an isolated chunk of time. You worry about scary shit every day. I tip my hat to you, LEO Wife.

      -Violet

We'd love to hear your thoughts

