Tilapia…Sweet, Sweet Tilapia

23 Jun

It’s been a while since I’ve experimented with anything new in the kitchen. Work routines have me clinging to my idiot-proof staples in desperation. I simply don’t have the time or energy to do anything creative these days. While at my little “gourmet” butcher shop this morning, I happened to pick up some fresh tilapia. I usually just throw it in a dish with lemon, butter, and garlic to bake, but I thought I’d give my favorite new website a go.

Have you been to www.supercook.com? If you haven’t, you must stop whatever you’re doing and go right now. It’s a recipe search engine where you input the ingredients you happen to have lying around the house, and it’ll suggest recipes only using what you tell it you have. I told the search engine that I have a pantry stocked with goodness (thanks to my diligent couponing and stock-piling) and nothing fresh in the fridge beyond the fish, and here’s what it gave me. (Warning: you’re about to salivate all over yourself. Get a napkin or something.)

  • 2-4 tilapia filets
  • 1 c. crackers, crumbled (I used Ritz Whole Wheat)
  • 1/2 c. breadcrumbs (I used Panko because I’m a snob.)
  • 1 t. Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 t. freshly ground pepper. (the barefoot contessa would remind you to use “good” pepper, the bitch.)
  • 1 stick butter
  • Parmesan cheese to taste

Directions:

1. Melt butter. Put aside.

2. Mix breadcrumbs, crushed crackers, and seasonings in a shallow, wide bowl.

3. Coat fish in butter. Dredge both sides in the dry mix.

4. Place fish in foil-lined pan.

5. Drizzle the remaining butter and dry mix on top of the fish, then sprinkle the Parmesan over the filets.

6. Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Amazing. Purely amazing. Even the kid devoured it. =]

2 Responses to “Tilapia…Sweet, Sweet Tilapia”

  1. dpums June 24, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Ooooh! Thanks for the new website! I’ll have to remember this next time I’m playing my very own round of “Chopped” with the random ingredients I have leftover in my fridge. lol.

    • daisyandviolet June 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      I’m a little obsessed with this site. I love that it’ll tell me how to make my hodge podge of crap into yummy meals! We appreciate you reading and commenting! -Violet

We'd love to hear your thoughts

