Black Bean Salsa – Violet-style

20 Apr

Coming from a family of foodies, the vast majority of my recipes have been passed down to me from my parents. Anything I cook, my parents prepare better. It’s hard carving out one’s own culinary identity when every recipe in one’s repertoire came from Mom or Dad. I never had my own contribution to the table until I stumbled upon this black bean salsa recipe, which I modified and made my own. It was a huge hit with my family; it’s fresh, it’s low-fat, and it is absolutely delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, minced
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1 avocado, peeled and chopped (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of Tobasco sauce (optional)
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except lime juice and seasonings in a bowl. Stir. Squeeze the lime into the mixture, stir. Add salt, pepper, and Tobasco, stir. If you want to make this into black bean guacamole, add the avocado in the beginning.

Serve with tortilla chips and a smile.

We'd love to hear your thoughts